European Diplomacy

The CFSP (Common Foreign and Security Policy) previously formed the 2nd pillar of the old EU structure. It was governed by intergovernmental cooperation, within which decisions were principally taken unanimously by the Council or the European Council. The Treaty of Lisbon (2010-) reforms the old EU structure by abolishing the distinction between the three pillars (page “division of competences”).

Furthermore, the merging of the pillars effectively makes the European Community disappear, to be replaced by the EU. The EU shall thereby have legal personality, which was previously an attribute of the European Community only. This legal personality confers on the EU new rights at international level. For example, the EU is henceforth capable of concluding international agreements and joining international organisations and conventions. 

For more, updated details please view the French version